Cooper is a bassist, composer and producer based in Cape Town, South Africa.
His debut acoustic album Oscillations
 features some of South Africa’s finest
jazz musicians; Reza Khota, Kesivan Naidoo, Bokani Dyer and Justin Bellairs.
This album also won best Jazz album at the 2014 South African Music Awards (SAMA).
In 2013 Cooper was selected as the Standard Bank Young Artist for Jazz and has
since performed with legendary artists like Louis Moholo, Afrika Mkhize, Marcus
Wyatt and many more.

Cooper also doubles as an electronic producer under the name Card On Spokes and
has shared the stage with Swedish group Little Dragon, Daedelus and Young
Fathers. He has also performed on Boiler Room and had radio support from
BBC Radio  who spotlighted works from his
album ‘As We Surface’,  which features
British-Barbadian saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings.

As a film composer, Shane
Cooper has written music for award-winning documentaries Forerunners and Orbis  by Simon Wood, as well as Wood, Port Nolloth: Between a Rock and a
Hard Place
by Felix Seuffert. In 2017 he launched his latest project-
Mabuta, which includes Bokani Dyer, Sisonke Xonti, Robin Fassie- Kock and
Marlon Witbooi.

Works in the archive